Ready Set Pedal

A charity bike ride has changed my life :)

Bible Bump = Doctor Time

Tomorrow I will make my first ever visit to my doctor for a cycling related malady.

I seem to have developed a pea-sized ganglion cyst on my right palm, just beneath my middle finger.

The area was hurting me yesterday and as I was rubbing it – I felt this hard ball that feels like an extra joint.

Hmmm that’s weird I thought….When I noticed that A. It hurt some more when I applied pressure to it and B. None of my other fingers have this “double joint” I figured something was up.

Internet Forums, YouTube, Sports-related sites at the ready I found out it’s a ganglion cyst. Also known as a Bible bump…. as, and I will quote this from Wikipedia:

A ganglion cyst, also known as a Bible cyst, is a swelling that often appears on or around joints and tendons in the hand or foot. The size of the ganglion or cyst may vary over time. It is most frequently located around the dorsum of the wrist and on the fingers. The term “Bible cyst” (or “Bible bump”) is derived from a common treatment in the past that consisted of hitting the cyst with a Bible or similarly large book.[1] Whacking the ganglion cyst with a large tome is usually sufficient to rupture the cyst, and re-accumulation is uncommon[2].

Sound like a lot of fun doesn’t it?? These guys actually tried this Bible-bashing technique out:

It’s a funny clip – Press play!!

It appears that cyclists develop these when they grip the bars too rigidly… So I am going to pad my handle bars with plush cushions to ensure I do not get this again!! haha

The alternatives to bashing the cyst with a Bible are A.  Removing it via surgery or B. Aspiration (with a needle to drain the fluid out)…. Sound like EVEN MORE fun doesn’t it?!!

I’m headed to the doctor tomorrow because I don’t want it to grow larger and I’d like to go with the draining option. Gulp – I hope this doesn’t hurt!

Anyway – I guess this calls for some 80s music!!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Bible Bump = Doctor Time

  1. That hurt just watching the video!

Leave a Reply

